Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

almost there, having brake line issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2009, 08:42 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default almost there, having brake line issues

Ok, I've got three things left to do on the checklist before bringing the car to the tuning shop. One of those things is to finish bleeding the brakes.

I put new brake lines and fittings on the car, so the system was totally dry. I put brake fluid in the master cyl, and pumped the brake pedal. I found quite a few leaks, almost all the fittings I put together in fact.

Two of them I tightened and they seemed to go away, but others I tightened and they're still leaking. I forgot to take pics last night so I drew it out for you guys to see. I've never done my own brakes before - I did get a new double flaring tool, practiced with it for a while, and the flares looked decent, so I'm not sure what the reasons for the leaks are.

This is the proportioning valve I'm using, if it makes any difference (all fittings going into it are 3/16"):

This is the first issue, the leak is coming from where the tube goes into the head part of the fitting, NOT the threads (the threads are totally dry):

And here is the second issue, the rubber brake hose that goes into the caliper has like a rectangular metal block at the end of it, that has a hole in it for a bolt that holds it to the caliper. It's NOT leaking between the block and the caliper, it's leaking from where the rubber meets the rectangular metal block:

Car is a 93 Camaro (with LS1). So has anyone done their own brake lines or run into issues like these before? The brake pistons aren't pushing AT ALL.

Thanks a ton for any help or advice.

Last edited by demonpixel; 10-28-2009 at 08:58 AM.
Old 10-28-2009, 09:04 AM
rao
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First, you are one hell of an artist