Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

69 Chevelle - How to mount T56 to LS1 (Write-up inside) - PLEASE HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 01:49 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 69 Chevelle - How to mount T56 to LS1 (Write-up inside) - PLEASE HELP!

Hi all, I would like to do a write-up here on how to install the T56 and related parts to an LS1 block. I am swapping this into my 69 Chevelle and this is my first time. Its hard to find a solid write up in a search so if someone has a link, please share it. I have a few questions to start and also have a list of things I will include in the write up. Write up will include the order to install parts, and the torque specs for my application as well as hardware used etc.

Parts included - Mcleod bellhousing, hydraulic throw out bearing (PN 24264180), LS7 Clutch Kit (PN 24255748), LS2 Flywheel (PN 12571611), GM Pilot Bearing (PN 14061685), Plastic style alignment tool

Questions:
1. Do I have to have the block plate that goes between the block and flywheel? The mcleod housing I bought came mounted to the trans so I do not have this. Wondering if its bad or if I can get away without.

2. My Mcleod housing has starter mounting locations on both side for universal application. Because of this, the Dougs 3336 swap headers hit the bell on both side and fall short about 3/8 inch from mounting completely. I plan to trim the lip a bit on both sides to get them to slide past. Any advice/suggestions.

3. What bolts has everyone used with their mcleod housing since the lip is thinner than stock 4l60e I originally had. The stock bolts were M10x1.5x40mm but I think I need mine to be 1/2 inch shorter. What size do I need and is there a preferred location to purchase them?

4. Are there any precautions, supplies, tools, lubricants, common mishaps advice that you can offer or detailed install threads online? Please share.