Chevy S-10 LS1 4L60E SWAP HELP

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2015, 12:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chevy S-10 LS1 4L60E SWAP HELP

First i want to say hello to everyone because i'm new user. Hello

At the begining:
I had '99 Camaro Z28, few months ago i crashed my love ( R.I.P[*]) and take off some parts - like LS1 with 4L60E. I dont know what to do with. Alwyas my dream was to have my own chevy pick up with V8. Now i have occassion to buy '98 S-10 without an engine, and i thinking about this project.

I have a questions - What i need to swap LS1 + 4L60E in to S-10 ? It's very expensive to do it ? I'm not a mechanic so i dont know, and before i do something i want to know everything because i have really low budget

Any advice ?

Thanks and sorry for my bad english - im from eastern europe
Old 09-11-2015, 09:18 AM
On The Tree

Its not a cheap swap, there is very little room to work with and fabrication & frame modifications are involved. It is an awesome swap if done properly but it takes time and money to do it right. There are numerous ways to do the swap so you need to spend some time reading and doing research on successful builds. There is a boat load of information on these swaps on here and other forums. There are a number of them driving around as well.

I love s10 swaps so if you decide to go through with it, make sure you post a build thread.
Old 09-11-2015, 10:18 AM
TECH Enthusiast

It's not cheap if you go about it a certain way. You can really junk yard it up and make it work for cheap if you know what you are doing but like you said you aren't a mechanic so It will be a little harder to go that route. You can save yourself alot of money if you build your own wiring harness and make all your own crossmembers.

This forum can help you alot, if you look at the top of the page there are stickes on what all needs to be done and several different ways of doing it.

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/lsx-discussion/