Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

What should I do with my converter? 600whp to 900whp

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2016, 11:49 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default What should I do with my converter? 600whp to 900whp

Im at the point of needed to have my FLT level 7 4l60e freshened up. It has 6 years of beating and about 25k miles. Still works awesome just started to slip a little on 20 psi boost, about 900whp. 3850lbs car.

Ive been running the same VIG 3 disc lock up 3600 for those 6 years. NO issues with it but since everything is out I am looking for some direction if I should change things up since when I put the car together it had a solid 300 less whp.

Does the specing of a converter change a lot if weight, gearing, type of FI are the same but power has gone up due to turbo changes?

Thanks
Alex
Old 01-27-2016, 12:57 AM
8 Second Truck Club

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

IF you added "a solid 300 hp" it should have loosened up quite a bit.

What are you trying to do? If you like the way it is, don't change it.
Old 01-27-2016, 04:37 AM
10 Second Club

Just be as efficient as possible and go as fast as possible. I like how it drives and I use a t-brake with it so launching has been fine.
Old 01-27-2016, 06:03 AM
9 Second Club

Received 181 Likes on 96 Posts

900 to the tire ... sounds like you are at 400 turbo or 4l80 time. I have not seen or herd of many 4l60s at that level.
Old 01-27-2016, 11:59 PM
8 Second Truck Club

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by SPRAYED 01
Just be as efficient as possible and go as fast as possible. I like how it drives and I use a t-brake with it so launching has been fine.