Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Is my Stock 10-Bolt Doomed?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2004, 12:28 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Red face Is my Stock 10-Bolt Doomed?

Well, once I get my headers in the mail and the dyno-tuning done, I would expect a healthy 390rwhp to my stock 10-bolt rear end. My next mod will probably by a TA cover, then drag radials. I already have Moser axle shafts. My question is, is my rearend doomed to destruction? I am a pretty conservative driver. If I race, I don't raise the RPM then drop the clutch, but put the RPM's at 1200 or so and slowly release the clutch, not SLOW slow, faster than usual if you understand... Do I need to take a lot of caution with my rear end? Is it just the launches that can hurt it? I cannot afford a new rear by any means unless I will the lottery or something. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks.
Old 03-02-2004, 04:05 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I know whatcha mean. I hardly ever race...maybe 10 passes a year if that, and my 10-bolt is pretty damn quiet. Im installing a cam this week, and making a few passes next weekend..hopefully it'll hold up for 5 or so passes.
Old 03-02-2004, 04:19 PM
TWS
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My $.02.

On an M6 car, the stock 10-bolts are usually not long for this world. At least on cars that see the track.

That said, one thing you can do to help it live longer is always launch it hard. Yes, launch it hard. You want the tires to spin a little on every run. If you bog the car on the line your clutch and rear end will take the abuse. If you spin a bit, a good portion of the shock is transmitted through the tires.