Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

4.10 help - pros and cons

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2004, 06:17 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.10 help - pros and cons

I'm no expert in this field. I've heard of the 4.10 or the 4.11 gears. Here are my questions:
-is the 4.10 and the 4.11 the same?
-are the gears effective for the takeoff or from a roll?
-is it effective on all the gears or just one?
-i'm getting head/cams... will there be any complications?
-what are the negative aspects of getting a 4.11?
Old 05-13-2004, 06:24 AM
Staging Lane

and who's a good firm to buy it from the sponsors on the right?
and what's 'ring & pinion'?
Old 05-13-2004, 06:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

A crash course in ring and pinion. First of the pinion is a shaft with gear teeth on it, that transfers rotating energy from the driveshaft into the rearend. The ring gear connects to it, and drives the rear axles. These are housed inside the "pumpkin" portion of the rearend, for lack of a better word.

As far as gear selection, if your running a 10 bolt rearend (stock) I would not recommend a 4.10 gear (4.10's are for 10 bolt GM). That gear, while effective for drag launches, and even rolling starts, is notoriously brittle. If your running a 6 speed it only amplifies the problem. You will have to take into consideration that all the horsepower in the world is useless unless you have a good suspension, and traction adders. I'm a firm believer that its better to build the cars base (suspension, rearend, and tires) before you worry about adding more power.

I highly recommend that you stick with a smaller gear, such as a 3.73 gear if your running an automatic or manual. It has good pick up, and still offers very good street manners, as well as highway use.