Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

12 Bolt Gear Swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2015, 09:29 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 12 Bolt Gear Swap

Hello!

I currently have a strange 12 bolt in my 2000 Trans AM w/ 4.11's. I am running out 3rd with 50 feet left in the 1/4 and want to go to 3.73's to give myself some more room. I have it set up to shift at 6500rpm and don't want to push my stock bottom end any higher.

I have never done a ring and pinion swap before and have a few questions.

The rear has about 13k miles on it, do I need to put all new bearings in it with such low mileage? Rear end is very quiet as it sits now.

With going from 4.11 to 3.73 on a series 4 carrier will the shim thickness on the pinion be fairly close? I am going to have to take the pinion somewhere to have the bearing pushed on and don't want to have to make several trips due to adjusting shim thickness.

Thanks for any advice!
Old 10-17-2015, 09:25 AM
12 Second Club

How tall are your tires? F-body.org/gears shows 114mph @ 6100 rpm. If you're using a 26" tire have you thought about a taller tire to extend your top end? Plus I understand a taller tire will hook better.
http://www.f-body.org/gears/
Old 10-17-2015, 09:36 AM
11 Second Club

I have considered going to a 28". But I daily drive this car also so a 3.73 would help keep rpm down while cruising.
Old 10-21-2015, 07:45 PM
TECH Addict

Received 497 Likes on 384 Posts

I'm also looking at a 12 bolt gear change but from 4.10's to a 3.55 gear set. I read about the 3 and 4 series carriers so does that mean I have to buy a different posi unit? I've done plenty of 8.5 10 bolts but never a 12 bolt. Any help is most welcome. Cheers.