General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

06-07 CTS-V vs 09 G8 GT/GXP

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2014, 03:21 PM
Launching!

Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts

Default 06-07 CTS-V vs 09 G8 GT/GXP

Oh no, not another one, right? LOL!

OK. So my current daily is a modded 2002 Nissan Maxima SE 6-speed. Its OK but not having V8 torque makes it a pain in the butt to drive around town. As soon as you change speed by 10mph in traffic, you have to down-shift. I know its not a real issue in a V8 car but Im not sure if I wanna DD a manual car anymore. Im getting a little old (42).

CTS-V: I like the CTS-V but the rear end issues scare me. I dont think I can drive it gently enough to make it live. Im a former automotive tech so working on it wont be an issue.

G8 GT: I like the car but Im afraid of the DoD and the 6L80. Ive always had bad luck with automatics but I hear the 6L80 is pretty stout. I guess the rears arent too bad in them.

G8 GXP: If I bought one, it would have to be a manual. But the price... Im not looking to spend over 20K. Sure it has nice brakes, an LS3 and nice wheels but Im not sure if its worth it. Im pretty sure I can do the standard DoD delete, intake, headers, exhaust and tune and smoke a GXP (without upgrading the cam). Then if I wanna get REAL dumb, Maggie...

Im almost pretty much sold on the G8 GT. Can I get some input from anyone?

Thanks!
Old 03-24-2014, 07:51 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Nothing wrong with the GT unless you are the kind of person that gets bored quick of driving a automatic vehicle. Yes the 6L80e is a strong tranny, thats the good side.

Either one of the G8s would be a great choice imo.
Old 03-24-2014, 11:22 PM
It's not mine! woo hoo!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'd personally go LS2 V simply because I'd like to row my own gears and the GXP is hard to find and comparatively pricey. G8 GT would be yawnsville for me.
Old 03-25-2014, 11:02 PM
Douchebag On The Tree