Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ultra cool short belt alternator

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2005, 12:53 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fairly OK belt tensioner but not really that great

OK, I can't post in the for sale section cause I'm a noob. Anyway, I'm going to take a chance here and throw this out simply because when I looked in here for an alternator only short belt solution I saw there was a need for something simple and cheap. So I made up this little bracket. It worked so well that I went and had enough parts laser cut to make 10 of them. Here's the laser cut version-

Name:  final2.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  97.1 KB

In this picture the stock cast aluminum bracket was modified buy cutting away the unused front lower leg, the mount on top for the idler pulley was also cut away. This is not required to use this bracket! I did that because this car will never run anything but the alternator and I wanted to make it look pretty. The only thing required is possibly a little wipe with a file in the area shown in the photo. If the lower leg is not cut off the stock cast aluminum bracket, there may not be enough clearance to put a bolt in through the adjuster and the rear leg of the bracket, if this is the case then just remove the stock cast aluminum bracket, put a stud in, put the stock cast aluminum bracket over the stud and use a nut.