Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trying to install Autometer oil temp sender

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2006, 05:06 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trying to install Autometer oil temp sender

I'm new to tap and die sets and I'm trying to install an autometer sender for my oil temp gauges. The sender itself is 3/8" but I don't know how many threads per inch it has. Anyone know if I can use a 3/8" tap with 24tpi or do I have to use the 1/8" tap like it says on http://www.xse.com/leres/ss/gaugepod.html.

Or should I just pick up a 1/8" NPT pipe tap?

Thanks for any help!
Old 07-29-2006, 08:42 AM
TECH Junkie

I'm thinking it's 1/8" npt but I could be wrong. Your best bet to be sure may be to take the sender to the hardware store and have them match the threads to the tap size you need.
Old 07-29-2006, 08:53 AM
TECH Resident

Its 1/8" - 27 NPT, this is a tapered thread that helps seal itself from leaks.

The tap you can find pretty much anywhere, but you will also need the tap drill - this will be harder to locate than the tap. Its drill letter "R" - 0.339" diameter. You will need this to finish drilling thru the fitting (there is a partial hole already there).

When you tap it, be sure to stop tapping when the tap reaches a depth that leaves 6 to 7 "full" threads before/from the top of the tap. If you go too deep you may not be able to get it to seal. Like I said, this is a tapered tap - so the deeper you go the wider the hole!

Last edited by Weezzer; 07-29-2006 at 09:06 AM.
Old 07-29-2006, 09:52 AM
TECH Resident

Great advice guys, you've been very helpful! I'm gonna head out to find the right sizes.
Old 07-29-2006, 12:10 PM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by Weezzer