Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cant decide what to do...Please help

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2008, 03:44 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cant decide what to do...Please help

Hey guys. I just bought a 05 LQ4 and I was looking for recommendations or dyno graphs on what certain cams will gain gain on stock milled 317 heads? I am debating on whether or not to get aftermarket heads, but they seem like they dont pack a whole lot of bang for your buck. Being I am a college student, I dont have a pot to **** in, so im trying to spend my money in the right parts. Keep in mind that I have a 6.0 and am looking for advice or numbers on them. My goals are about 400-425 hp AND tq at the rear wheels through an auto. Along with my power goals, I would like to have a very usable power curve. Let me know what you guys think and who else I can contact who has seen results from different combinations on 6 liters.
Old 10-27-2008, 07:57 PM
Launching!

Bump, Please help me out here. I have to get this project done very soon. Thanks
Old 10-27-2008, 08:21 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

just mill the heads and keep stock cam. that will enuff to keep u happy
to begin with. get ls6 intake and headers
will make over 400 tq with just that
Old 10-27-2008, 08:40 PM
Launching!

...this is so confusing. I highly doubt a stock cam will get me to my goals...Any sponsors I talk to are saying I will need heads and cam to get me there and that I will run into clearance issues when I mill the heads and put a decent cam in. All I want is a square answer as to what will get me a bunch of power under the curve and roughly 400hp and tq at the wheels. Let me know, Thanks
Old 10-27-2008, 09:24 PM
Launching!

Whats the motor going into and what transmission are you going to use?
Whats the purpose of this car? Street or Strip?