Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Camshaft advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 12:01 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Camshaft advice needed

I recently purchased an 01' SS M6. The car has a mild cam setup with supporting mods. It has pacesetter LT headers w/ TSP Y-pipe,Hooker cat-back,4:10 gears,moser 28 spline axles,air lid w/K&N,and numerous suspension components that really don't matter for my concern.Anyhow,the cam is around 224/226 .525/.532 and has comp 915 springs.I was wanting to remove that cam and install an MS3 with the PRC .660 lift springs,but before I spend $1,500+ on that I was pondering something.This is where I could use some advice.I'm wondering if maybe I can just install longer pushrods and maybe some 1.85 rockers to get the same result as a larger cam?While this is my 4th LSX car,I am new to the modifying of the internal components.Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!It sounds logical,and it would save money and time,but I don't want to cause myself problems down the road.Thanks everyone!
Old 05-02-2009, 12:49 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

why would you want to install longer pushrods? and a 1.85 isn't going to change your valve events. my recommendation to you is to get a custom cam from someone who makes a living speccing cams. NOT someone who does it for a hobby and may or may not be right. Look up Bauer Racing Engines or Flowtech Inductions for that service.
Old 05-02-2009, 01:45 AM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I am no cam guru, but that is a very small cam. You would be better off getting a bigger cam, good springs like the PRCs, or a good used set of 243s with some good springs already installed. Why would a cam & springs cost $1500+? I just did a cam, timing chain, pushrods, springs, oil pump, & gaskets ran me about $1000. Of course I will be getting it tuned so another $450 so yep close to $1500 if you do the cam install yourself.
Old 05-02-2009, 12:25 PM
Teching In