Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'98 Head question

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2010, 09:15 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default '98 Head question

I want to do H/C/I. I have a set of 2X Cartek heads casting # 806. They are fresh and have a set of Comp 921's on them. My car is a 2000. What is needed to use these heads? I know I need a set of perimeter style covers. My buddy says he has a set. I searched and found that the coils mount directly to those style covers. Will mine bolt on them? Also I found in one thread a guy talking about those heads have a "notch" and you cant use a certain head gasket. I looked at the bottom of the heads and there is a "notch" on the exhaust side of the head. Is that what hes talking about? What about roller rockers with these valve covers? I seen some old posts,but no real answers. I have no money in these heads,which is why I want to use them. Someone spent some $ on them and are worth using.Im new to the LS world,any info would be great.
Old 01-12-2010, 11:50 AM
TECH Regular

Normally I would tell you to throw them away...but since they're ported....they might do alright. Yes you need the perimeter valve covers. You need the coil brackets for a '98. I'm not sure what he means by the notch, as I never noticed anything while having my heads off. But if that's the case, just get GM MLS head gaskets for a 1998 LS1. Got mine from Advanced and had no troubles. I also assume you are going to need the bolts themselves, as I think there are several more than centerbolt covers. Good luck
Old 01-12-2010, 01:05 PM
10 Second Club

Heres the quote about the notch. Thanks for the info,any other info also would be great.