Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So I'm looking for a motor...

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2004, 06:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So I'm looking for a motor...

I think I'll stick this here because I need to get familiar with the insides of a v8.

I'm really new to American cars, actually right now all I'm interested in are engines and trannys I can put into my new project. I'm looking into getting either a chevy 350 small block or maybe a LS1 or an LT1 to build up and drop into my car. There's just a few things I'm trying to learn first before I go out and buy a motor though...

What is the difference between a TBI, carburator, and Tuned Port Injection? Which one would be best for a race car. I'm not as worried about streetability, this is strictly to get me to the race track, down it in anywhere between 10-12 seconds, and back home.

Right now, I can get these two motors from a local junkyard for pretty much free. They are in good condition, I think this is what they were but I don't know for sure.
5.7 crossfire from a 96 z28
5.7 Tuned Port from a 94-95 z28

I don't know what either of them are, but my plan is to build up a motor and then try to shoot maybe a 100 shot of go go juice (that's a lot for the 4 bangers I usually drive, not sure what it's like for having twice the cylinders). I don't even know if those motors are any good for that or if I should try to find something better. They're free! That's a lot of money left for exhaust, heads, cams, valves, hell I don't even know what all I can buy for a v8. Anyone wanna point me in the right direction? Anywhere I could buy a cheap motor online? Basically I just want a sick set up. Within a reasonable price, but not the cheapest either.
Old 01-15-2004, 07:12 PM
PSJ Wannabe & Attention Whore

PM SENT

Originally Posted by TheMutt
I think I'll stick this here because I need to get familiar with the insides of a v8.