Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4 build ????

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2011, 04:21 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 build ????

I have a LQ4 I'm rebuilding to put into my jeep. This is my first build so I'm somewhat clueless. I was just planning on putting a LS6 cam, springs, valves, and oil pump, TSP push rods, LS2 timing set. I'm not interested in forged internals because I'm not going FI, nitrous, or trying to get super crazy N/A power numbers. The only reason I'm upgrading the push rods is because too many of my friends w/ LSx have had stock push rod issues and I just want peace of mind

From my understanding the 243s and 317s are the same except for the combustion chamber. I don't want to have to spend money on a set of 243s. I'd rather just use the 317s I already have. Will the valves work with the 317 heads and can I mill the heads to match the compression increase from the 243s? I was just going to use the stock rods and pistons with ARP bolts so I'm not sure about the PTV. Is fly-cutting an option? Once again I don't really need the lighter valves but I have to get new ones anyways due to rust on the old ones... its ****ing awesome +

How well will this be for low to mid range power? Seeing as this will be in a 90 cherokee running the woods, trails and used as my DD(eventually) and not at a track or on the road doing 100+mph I don't need/want anything too extreme. I'll be using the truck intake manifold and block hugger headers from Novak if that has any factor at all.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-07-2011, 12:32 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts