Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

good least expensive stroker kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2004, 05:47 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default good least expensive stroker kit

I want to (with the assistance of an experienced friend) build an LS1 stroker motor. I am fairly new to internal engine mods. what is the least expensive way to go about doing this? I looked on Lunatis website and their 382 stroker kit is $3,600.......is that the normal going rate? Is there a cheaper way? by the way, I know to make a stroker engine involves installing a different crank shaft. what kind of a crankshaft is it? would it be possible to find the same crankshaft from a low mile late model truck/car from a salvage yard? before you beat me with the stupid stick, remember, Im new... just trying to gather the options. thanks
Old 03-24-2004, 06:39 PM
TECH Apprentice

Cheapest, good quality parts are: Eagle crank, Diamond pistons, 6.125" rods. If you want breathing, consider Patriot Performance heads. A lot of words have been written lately here about the quality issue of these low-priced parts, but most have found them to be reliable and to make good (if not excellant) power. I did something similar for about $2,500. Try Texas Speed, MTI and others for starters. Texas Speed (for instance) has some offset-ground cranks for a real bargain-basement stroker package. Check the sponsors' web sites to get an idea of what is available. HTH
Old 03-24-2004, 06:40 PM
BB
TECH Enthusiast

TBynre and More Performance (sponsors on the right) have Lunati kits on sell that are better than that price. For about $1000 less you can get a good performing Eagle stroker kit from someone like AP Engineering (another sponser on the right).

The crank shaft is a lighter and stronger with a 4 inch stroke compared to our 3.622 stroke. As I understand it you will need a LS1 specific setup. You will not be able to use older model cranks.