Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me build my high power lq4

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 07:29 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help me build my high power lq4

I'm finally getting around to planning my motor build for my 72 Nova setup for road racing/autocross/show car. My 355 finally died after serving me for 4 years as a daily driver and another 4 of 7000rpm shifts. This car gets street driven, goes on cruises but i also don't show it any mercy lol so I want it to be radical. I'm starting this build with an 05 lq4 block, i'm going to strip it of everything and start over, I was thinking about forced induction but changed my mind.

So here are my thoughts for a nasty stroker build and am completely open to suggestions since i am new to the ls world and grew up on small blocks (even though im only 23). Cost isn't too big of a factor here because i want this motor to last as long as possible and be reliable.

I'm looking at TSP's 421CI rotating assembly(not sure if this is actually feasible even though its marketed for an lq4) and will upgrade most of the components to make sure this thing stays together.
PRC cnc ported ls3 cylinder heads, I know i'm going to have to look into what piston to use with these heads due to ptv clearance.
Cam is completely up in the air but i have a friend who says he knows someone who can make me something custom.
intake will most likely be an edelbrock victor jr with an accufab or similar 4 barrel throttle body running with a speed density tune with a 14" air cleaner with a filter top plate.
It will get larger injectors (whatever is recommended)
Ive heard the truck coils are good(don't know what truth there is to that) but i may go with msd coils.

This will be backed by a 6sp manual to a 3.73 geared rear, i think this could put down some serious power but not really sure about hard numbers, is 600 flywheel horsepower out of the question?