Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Yet another cam nag: Dynamic compression as it relates to a cam. :)

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2013, 08:08 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet another cam nag: Dynamic compression as it relates to a cam. :)

Hypothetical (LOL)

Let's just say I was considering putting a LS9 Cam in my 5.3; not that I would because its a bad idea.

OK, according to the recent CarCraft article, here are the results of the LS9 cam in a stock 5.3 on an engine dyno. Of course that's not what you're gonna get in a car, but at least it's an idea of what's going on.

ls9 cam 211/230 .558/.562 122.5lsa
/6200/ 420hp
/5100/ 393tq
/2500/ -41tq
/3500/ -20tq
/4500/ -2tq
/5500/ +51tq/53hp
/6500/ +90tq/112hp

Gains up top are huge, losses down bottom are huge. What's the problem? Too much lift? LSA too wide? Probably yes and yes but I'm just a newb.

I am asking that you make a guess as to what would happen if I installed that cam (hypothetically of course) while at the same time installing new pistons which bumped the static compression ratio up from 9.5:1 to 10.5:1? Do you think the increased cylinder pressure would recover the low end grunt? Hypothetically

TIA
Old 08-16-2013, 03:33 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

That cam's designed for a larger forced induction motor, raising the cr 1 point will help some but it's not going cancel out the TQ loss below 4K. Faster cam lobe ramp rates and dropping the lsa down to 117 or less along with 2-3 * of advance on the cam would take care of most of it.

This is from the article:
Note that peak torque production never varied by more than 15 lb-ft with any of the factory cams; the duration simply shifted the torque curve higher or lower in the rev range. Whereas the LM7 produced peak torque at just 4,300 rpm, the LS7 and LS9 cams produced peak torque 700–800 rpm higher.
Old 08-16-2013, 05:06 PM
Teching In