Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Internal Gurus I need help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2005, 12:21 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Internal Gurus I need help!

Yes I'm a newbie to the internal thing but I am having the worst time figuring out what the hell is wrong with my car. 2001 Trans Am M6

Mods are: Lid, Catback, Ported TB, Cags, Short shifter, Z06 Clutch replacement and thats it for now. 38,000 miles, regular maintenance.

The car has a horrible miss at idle which causes a shake in the car, happens randomly and probably every 2-3 seconds. Car runs pretty good, but seems down on power.

I've done-top end cleaner, full injection cleaner, new spark plugs, the stock wires looked good, fuel filter, no ses light.

My car still has this miss. The only thing I can think of is when I first got the car I missed a shift 3-2 before I got a new shifter. No loud ticking or clacking noise, just a lil bit worse gas mileage and this miss. I'm starting to think maybe i have a bent pushrod or two. What the hell can create a miss like this? The car feels like it has a cam in it and doesn't feel strong unless I really get into it. I'm frustrated, please help
Old 01-28-2005, 12:28 PM
TECH Regular

anybody in Northern VA wanna come by and help a new guy to the internal world pull off the valve covers for the first time?
Old 01-28-2005, 01:34 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Recheck the obvious stuff 1st before opening the top. Plugs(look at all eight for any oddities), plug wires, coil pack leads, injector leads. Wouldn't be a bad idea to pick up an inexpensive OBDII scanner(Actron or equivilant)to help iscolate this and future problems.

Got a tank of bad gas? Possible moisture in the system? Try some dry gas?

If the miss was the result of popped spring or bent PR, you should've thrown a light I would think. At least that's my experience. If you pull the covers and find nothing amiss(NO broken springs/bent PR's), do a leak down.