Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam discussion-I pray

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2005, 01:03 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 60 Likes on 28 Posts

Default Cam discussion-I pray

I am just learning about cams and wanted to learn a bit about what specs affect engines in different applications. While I have chosen to use a forced induction application becuase the specs have observable consequences that aid in this cam discussion, this is posted as a tech question in the internal engine section for 2 reasons. 1: I am not interested in this discussion turning into a forced induction war and 2: it is a cam-valve event discussion that may and I hope, will steer away from the first application (forced induction) that I used to get the topic going. I am not in the know on the topic and wanted to weed through why certain 'exceptions' seem to work so well.

I'll start my question off with a request to avoid flames if you read something you disagree with in this thread. I would like you to avoid hijacking this thread for a forced induction 'I read it somewhere' tournament on who read more about forced induction.

START:

Two very good successful tuners that do a lot of forced induction work use 10.1:1 compression with full boost to get near 650-700rwhp with the d1sc and f1r ati units. I know a lot of people are already screaming here since the widely held belief is that you have to be in the 8.5:-9.5:1 but that is not my discussion/question. Since those tuners do it successfully, that will be a discussion elsewhere.