Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ls6 ls7?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 12:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question ls6 ls7?

Okay, i am new to this thread. I have a 1998 ss camaro. I am looking at building an engine that will be NA at first,then i am going to either a custom TT setup or a twin screw. what would you suggest, building an ls6 or an ls7? i need to make big power, and it be streetable. i don't really have a budget but if i can spend less money on a built ls6 and get close to the same power of a built ls7 (within around 50hp) then i would much rather do that. also where can i find a good place for the parts to build either of hemotors, because all of my searches fail to turn up any results.

thank you
Old 06-06-2007, 12:55 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Going turbo or supercharger is something you need to decide before hand. To build a motor for n/a power and one for forced induction are 2 different things.
You have to ask yourself a few questions first

1- Goals. Certain hp level or a certain time at the track or what??
2- intended useage- street or strip or a combination. If a combo give a percentage.
3- Money- You have a budget, it may be pretty high to you right now, but believe me, the car will eat it alive.

FYI I am not really sure if a twin screw is a option in a f-body. Cowl is in the way..
Old 06-06-2007, 01:01 PM

thank you for the reply

1.I am going f/i either 2.8l kenne bell or twin turbo setup.I am looking for close to 1000bhp or more.
2. A mix of street strip will be driven on the street a decent amount of time
3.budget doesnt really matter i would like to spend under 15k on the engine alone.
Old 06-06-2007, 04:52 PM
TECH Addict

You will be limited on your FI selection because of the cowl.
Having said that let's assume you will be going TT. You can make 1000 BHP with either one. However if it were me I would do it like this for reliability reasons

LSX block $2000