Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Converting L92 to LS/376

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2009, 08:37 PM
On The Tree

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Converting L92 to LS/376

I'm new to the LS series of engines so I may ask a few dumb questions. I would like to convert a 2008 L92 to have similar performance to the LS/376 crate engine. Also I'd like to convert to a cable driven throttle body vs a drive by wire to allow for a 200R4 TV cable. The plan is to install it in a '67 Chevelle. I was going to put my ZZ3 in but this will be more interesting if I can get it all to work.

Here's what I believe I'd need to change so far.

- Convert from VVT to Non-VVT (LS2 Timing cover, cam gear, and ?)
- LS3 Intake (will the injectors and sensors work?)
- Hot cam (88958733, do I need to replace the lifters also)
- Change valves(springs also? any difference in the installed height on the springs)
- Throttle body (not sure what one to use for cable driven)
- ECU (Could I use the one for the LS/376 or do I need another one?)

What else?
Old 10-03-2009, 11:50 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you have dod you will have to replace the lifters and get a new valley cover, not a big deal, u will have to pull the heads tho if thats the case, if not, your good to go.

i dont know about the injectors, i bought a ls3 fuel rail from gm and got 42 pound bosch 3s from a sponsor on here fic injectors (great price, service, company, and warranty)

depending on the computer you run you will have to get a lingerfelter converter box for the reluctor wheel on the crankshaft, you will run the stock settings and sensors if you use an ls3 or l92 computer tho...

deff change the valvesprings, but dont get a hotcam, withought going into it, there are betters.. look into the one in my sig, lg motorsports(another sponsor of this site) and there g6x3, mine idles nasty and runs like a bat out of hell, daily driver too