Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

have you ever shimmed the stock rocker stands?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2012, 07:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default have you ever shimmed the stock rocker stands?

Title has it. I'm new to the gen 3/4 and I've come across something I haven't read about.
I'm putting together an iron 408 with ls3 heads, prc springs, stock rockers with the comp cams trunion kit.

When I bolted everything down and checked the swipe of the rocker arm across the valve stem, I found that the pattern was very close to the inside edge of the stem. The only way to center it was to raise the rocker stand about .060. with a washer under the stand.

Anyone else see this? Are there dedicated shims availible to raise the stand?

I can't explain the fact that the pattern is way off. I did have a valve job done and that may have sunk the valves a bit. And the comp cams trunion might lower the rocker a bit.

Any ideas?
Old 09-06-2012, 07:49 PM
Teching In

It seems to me if it is even possible to do this that you will also need longer pushrods if your lash is correct before any shimming
Old 09-06-2012, 08:11 PM
Teching In

Yeh, longer pushrods are a given. I never expected to use the stock Length anyhow. High lift cam ensured new pushrods.

Having said that though..... Pushrod length should not affect the swipe pattern on the valve stem.

Clark
Old 09-08-2012, 08:32 PM
Teching In

Hey, I want to post a follow up and explain a mistake I made.

When I originally put this thing together and checked the rocker arm swipe at the valve, I did so with a lifter that had no oil in it. As such, this lifter compressed when lifting the valve and altered the swipe pattern on the valve stem. At that time the pattern was centered very close to the inside edge of the valve stem. This led me to believe that the rocker arm should be shimmed up to move the swipe pattern to the center of the stem.