International Members For our members outside of the USA

Seeking an Engineering Position in Germany

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 02:13 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Seeking an Engineering Position in Germany

My wife and I are wanting to move to Europe for a while, Germany in particular. She is looking to be an Au Paire and I am an engineer. Anybody on here know of any engineering openings that I could apply for and/or have any advice for an American trying to get a job in Germany? Thanks in advance!
Old 12-03-2008, 05:34 PM
TECH Apprentice

Have any advice for a college kid in Engineering in America? lol
Old 12-04-2008, 09:50 AM
TECH Apprentice

Actually I do. I just graduated last summer myself. Where do you go to school? My biggest piece of advice would be to get an internship /co-op somewhere, no matter what it takes. This does 3 things:

1. Gets your foot in the door when you are really cheap labor and they don't expect you to know much, just to be willing to learn and have good work ethic. Also, when you graduate, you know as much as a lot of other full time engineers but cost less (this happened to me and they hired me on full time while doing lay-offs because they knew I was a good capable worker that didn't cost as much).

2. It lets you see what engineering is like before you are all through with school so you can confirm that it is or isn't what you really want to do before investing all of the time and money.