Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

Anyone got any buying tips?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 08:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone got any buying tips?

Hey guys I'm new to the LS1tech community, and was just wondering if you had any tips on buying as far as what to look for and whatnot.

As of right now there are a few LS1 WS6 Trans Ams with M6's in the area (and by in the area I mean 750 miles out or less...going out to get it is not gonna bother me) that I'm considering. What I'm looking for is little to no modification (that's my job...I don't want the chance of someone else screwing the car up), T-Tops (not a fan of convertibles), manual (I'm sick of the one 4L60E I have already), low mileage (under 65k), WS6 package, etc...I'm sure you know what I'm basically lookin for.

Question is: Is there anything specifically to look for in these cars? I've got my eye on 4 or 5 of em and I plan on thoroughly checking em out. I'm fairly familiar with GM's, especially their LS1's (been researching em for a while for my 97 k1500...an ongoing automotive PITA, er..um..."project") Anyways...just really looking for any kind of input on what prices I should be expecting for a good (note: NOT showroom immaculate, this will NOT be a trailer queen, but a street-killing pavement pounder) condition vehicle along the lines of what I'm lookin at. Thanks a lot guys, really looking forward to really becoming part of this community (already been lurking for months researching cams, LT's, exhaust, nitrous, and just setups in general...but I think I want Tiago's TT setup :-D)

Thanks again guys,
Darrel
Old 07-26-2008, 08:40 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 443 Likes on 320 Posts