Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Basic S/C setup q's???

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2008, 08:40 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic S/C setup q's???

hey i know these q's are probably covered in other threads, but i just wanted to make sure i'm headed in the right direction. i'm new to any type of boost, so...

i'm looking to build an ls1-procharger setup in a g-body. from what i can gather i 'm thinking of getting a salvaged ls-1. so my first question is what is the best candidate? year? donor vehicle? i'm planning on getting some forged, and dished pistons, and possible some upgraded rods. a cam to work with the boost, some stronger valve springs, and some light head work just to remove hot spots. i'll get the necessary fuel pump and injectors to match the setup. from what i can tell i should be able to meet my goals with 8psi of boost, assuming 20hp/psi. my goal is a reliable 500 crank hp, for a street driven car. i know i left out some specifics, so be gentle please.

any reccomendations on the supercharger brand?
Old 12-30-2008, 08:58 PM
12 Second Club

if you stay real basic you can go with a p1sc. at 8psi or more definetly a d1sc. if your keeping the stock block, id add a set of lq4 heads to get the compression in the right neighborhood. ideally you would want to look for an 01 or up ls motor.

Last edited by jomomma; 12-30-2008 at 09:13 PM.
Old 12-31-2008, 04:42 AM
EPP
FormerVendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 81cuttysupreme
hey i know these q's are probably covered in other threads, but i just wanted to make sure i'm headed in the right direction. i'm new to any type of boost, so...