Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help on how to drag race at the track

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 09:14 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help on how to drag race at the track

have a 2002 Camaro SS M6 I pretty much just have full exhaust with LT and 3inch true duals.This Thursday I am going to the local track 1/8.I have street tires so do I need to do a burnout and another question I know to take off almost by the end of the third yellow light but not to early,so i was wondering how do you keep the car from moving when waiting for the green light without pressing the brake pedal I want to have my foot on the clutch and one on the gas so I can take off quick but I dont know if I take my foot off the brake pedal will the car roll back or forth?Any help will help its my first time running my car but I been going so I been paying attention.
Old 05-24-2009, 10:16 PM
FormerVendor

roll around the water box, dont drive thru it. back up into the water box and do a small burnout. On street tires you really dont need to heat the tires, you just want to clean them off.

do you have a stock clutch?

Last edited by Mike@HSW; 05-24-2009 at 10:23 PM.
Old 05-24-2009, 11:49 PM
TECH Regular

Only going to the track will tell if you roll at all or not. My local track is pretty flat, so I can have my foot off the brake.
Old 05-25-2009, 07:57 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Mike@HSW
roll around the water box, dont drive thru it. back up into the water box and do a small burnout. On street tires you really dont need to heat the tires, you just want to clean them off.

do you have a stock clutch?
I have the Centerforce Dual Friction I just dont want to take off super hard you know how f-body rear end is.
Old 05-25-2009, 07:58 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by 4WOFURY
Only going to the track will tell if you roll at all or not. My local track is pretty flat, so I can have my foot off the brake.