Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Timing Chain and Clearances

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2009, 02:11 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Chain and Clearances

Hey I have a 01 ls1 motor out of a Trans Am. I am wanting to purchase a double roller and my setup consist of a texas speed V2 torquer with upgrade valve springs etc... I also have a ported and blueprinted ls6 oil pump. What brand double roller would you guys recomend and not having to run into any clearance issues etc...

Also, btw where is a good place to get stock head bolts, stock MLS headgaskets etc..

Thanks Mark Tisdale
Old 06-22-2009, 02:36 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I have a rollmaster double that didn't have any clearance problems. When I built my engine I put the timing cover on and rolled the engine over by hand (with the plugs out) 20-30 times as fast as I could and then removed the timing cover to see if it was rubbing on the cover, no problem. I got the rollmaster from texas speed and they will have the gaskets and bolts you need too.
Old 06-22-2009, 03:07 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by conan
I have a rollmaster double that didn't have any clearance problems. When I built my engine I put the timing cover on and rolled the engine over by hand (with the plugs out) 20-30 times as fast as I could and then removed the timing cover to see if it was rubbing on the cover, no problem. I got the rollmaster from texas speed and they will have the gaskets and bolts you need too.

Thankyou Conan, anyone else
Old 06-22-2009, 03:11 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

why a double roller?
Old 06-22-2009, 09:55 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by John@Scoggin
why a double roller?
I have always on my sbc, I figure why not I don't mind spending alittle over $100 as assposed to using a cheap single ls2
Old 06-23-2009, 09:39 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts