Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

M6 4th gear issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 08:18 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default M6 4th gear issues

I am having some issues with my transmission, 4th gear grinds sorta when i am power shifting but shifts fine under normal driving. It will not go in second gear at all if im shifting over 5k rpm. I do not drive my car hard very often but Im worried my trans is gettin worn out, I have 150k on the car, and about 4k on a heads/cam swap. What my question is is which option is better: buy a transmission that has been built, buy the parts to build my own, if so is this a tricky process? I Have no experience with transmissions, or send my original transmission somewhere to have it beefed up? I know it has alot of miles on it and something will need to be done eventually anyway. Any feedback is appreciated, thanks!
Old 06-29-2010, 08:56 AM
Internet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by baddbird99
I am having some issues with my transmission, 4th gear grinds sorta when i am power shifting but shifts fine under normal driving. It will not go in second gear at all if im shifting over 5k rpm. I do not drive my car hard very often but Im worried my trans is gettin worn out, I have 150k on the car, and about 4k on a heads/cam swap. What my question is is which option is better: buy a transmission that has been built, buy the parts to build my own, if so is this a tricky process? I Have no experience with transmissions, or send my original transmission somewhere to have it beefed up? I know it has alot of miles on it and something will need to be done eventually anyway. Any feedback is appreciated, thanks!
1) Replace Clutch Master Fluid to DOT4 and Consider the Drill Mod to the Line

See where that gets you. Also check for clutch Drag (park on flat surface, engage cluth, rev to 5k and see if it creeps, IF it does then you have an issue.)