Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New here and in need of cam/ internal advice! Plz Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2010, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New here and in need of cam/ internal advice! Plz Help

Thanks in advance to all that may have some advice!

I am new to building fuel injected motors specifically the ls1. I have a 1998 SS with about 79k miles. It had a severe tick from a hollowed lifter from a broken rod. After a new set of lifters and comp cam rods shes all good. I am now looking to go back in and make a cam upgrade and headers. I was wondering what the best combos may be. I wanna go with longtubes as I ride at stock and maybe looking for a 2" drop down the road and think this will clear. As far as the cam goes what would be a good place to start? Will a cam swap make it necessary for an intake/ TB upgrade? Is there a cam that will allow me to make decent power without breaking the bank? Also when swapping a cam on these will it be mandatory for a mild cam to get head work like new springs and so forth? I'm trying to stay in a budget for now and wanna make more power than the rest of these cats in town!

AGAIN THANKS!
Old 10-26-2010, 11:25 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There's a lot of information if you search and in the stickies, but Ill give you a quick run down.

You need to research cam specs so that you can pick one suited to your needs and wants.

I went with a torquer v3 cam in my ls1 from texas speed and I loved it. It was a great cam at 231/234 .644/.598 111lsa. I think the lift on it was a bit excessive and it did prove to be as i broke 4 valve springs. I would pick something in the same range again in a second, but with maybe .600ish lift.

You probably have the ls1 intake which is quite restrictive. It may make sense to move up to a fast 90/90 combination or at least the ls6 intake (300$ish used) and reuse your tb.