LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Newb needs help selecting cam combo for my LT1 build

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2011, 12:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newb needs help selecting cam combo for my LT1 build

Hey everyone, I'm new here and have done quite a bit of reading trying to figure out a good combo for my engine. I have a 95 buick roadmaster that I think I am going to build a 383 for. The engine locked up and depending on the machine work that needs to be done, I am just going to buy an eagle stroker kit. The car is going to mostly be stock, I am looking for something very driveable with only mods really being the cam, headwork and more displacement. I want it to keep decent fuel economy (mid teens), I will be most likely shifting near the factory shift point, probably around 5500. I am eyeing a comp cams 08-501-8 for my application, is this a good choice? Thanks!
Old 01-12-2011, 12:22 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

This has been covered 10 times in the past month. There's more info available than you think.
Old 01-12-2011, 12:25 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

no need for a 383 if its going to be mostly stock and if you want to use the extra cubes cam and heads your going to need the mods to support it like CAI and headers and full exhaust. Call up Llyod Elliot or Advanced Inductions on the cams and heads they will steer you in the right direction for what you want.

Just spend the money on the cam and heads instead of the 383 you will get plenty out of a 355
Old 01-12-2011, 12:39 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by RamAir95TA

This has been covered 10 times in the past month. There's more info available than you think.
I've read through a lot but it seems that everyone in question drive f bodies or something similar, my roadmaster is much heavier.

Originally Posted by Lawhead