Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Will I have PTV clearance issues???

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2011, 08:15 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Will I have PTV clearance issues???

To make this easy: current setup=

Stock bottom 99ls1 car.
Built A4 and 2.73 gears(going with 3.42's or .73's soon)
Full bolt on supporting mods for a H/C/I car... Headers, ls6 intake, yadda yadda yadda

Livernois 243 castings with .690 max lift dual springs.
comp 218 cam
1.82 comp rockers
Pushrod length unknown?

I'm planning on buying a cam in the 228-230 range with around .590 lift.

Should I have any issue with my PTV clearance??? I know I wouldn't without the 1.82 rockers, but I'd like to keep them if possible/practical. They're nice and all

I've never had an issue with PTV clearance or had to check it so I'm a newb in this respect.

My plan is to pretty much just swap the cam and then take it to the tuner immediately... Not trying to go flickering and all that jazz as my setup is pretty good right now, just wanting to slip in a bit bigger cam bc it's pretty cheap and labor is free

Was thinking a fast intake and new tune if I'm gonna have PTV clearance issues... But trying to save that for next spring/summer since rebuilding my rear is next.

Thanks for the help,

Derek
Old 10-04-2011, 08:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Nope, you shouldn't have any PTV issues with what you are looking at.
Old 10-04-2011, 08:34 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by KevinR
Nope, you shouldn't have any PTV issues with what you are looking at.
Boy I hope your right man! Bc if it all goes well with the install I'm gonna be like a kid on Christmas!

Those 1.82 rockers are just jacking with me making me think my valves are gonna be too close.