Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

how realistic are my goals?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 03:50 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how realistic are my goals?

I've done more trolling on here than commenting hence the low post count and recent membership, but I am new to the LS1 community and am looking at getting an f-body LS1 with the T-56.

The reason I want to get an LS1 is because;
1. I've always wanted a Camaro (family has always had Camaros)
2. I'm crossing over from the Cobalt community and have put all the bolt-ons I can and squeezed the last hp (310whp/383wtq) out of my car before having to think about a larger turbo and building a bottom end. and before i drop that coin i will have to think about being able to lay it down to the pavement since its FWD.
3. There is more options and cheaper routes to take with the LS1 as well as infinite possibility

The my idea for the LS1 is roughly 600rwhp, I was wondering if it is possible to get those numbers with stock bore and stroke with a bigger single front mount turbo setup?

I plan on keeping the stock crank since I've read that it can hold upwards of 1000hp. forged rods and pistons. not sure on what heads i want to go with but I've been reading that the best throttle body would be the 90mm with the f.a.s.t. intake. From what I've read it should be a safe HP range for the motor since the typical failure point is the rings and rods once you get past 500 on stock internals.

That's the general idea I have for my project. I will be starting to take this to Virginia International Racetrack for the occasional open track day and the weekend drive. I know there is alot that needs to be upgraded other than the engine but I just wasnt sure if it was possible to safely get the numbers I want.