Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who has done their install?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2004, 08:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Who has done their install?

Thinking about putting the headers in myself so i get that feeling of accomplishment lol....but anyways, i heard some people have to jack up the engine and most people havnt...i'm thinking about doing the jet hots. Let me know if you had to jack your engine or not b/c i'm not really good at bigger jobs like that. Also if you disagree w/ jet hots. Thanks!
Old 03-18-2004, 08:39 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

i didnt have to jack up the engine in my install in my sig
Old 03-18-2004, 10:01 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I had my tranny off when I installed mine, so that made moving the motor that much easier, and the headers slid right in, passenger side is awesome, but my drivers side is/had some issues. I had to grind the kmember, and it seems as though even after I installed a new header gasket yesterday, it still is emittting massive heat. I cant keep my face anywhere near it, yet I can almost kiss the passenger side before i feel the heat, go figure!
Old 03-18-2004, 10:15 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by 1998whiteTranzam
I had my tranny off when I installed mine, so that made moving the motor that much easier, and the headers slid right in, passenger side is awesome, but my drivers side is/had some issues. I had to grind the kmember, and it seems as though even after I installed a new header gasket yesterday, it still is emittting massive heat. I cant keep my face anywhere near it, yet I can almost kiss the passenger side before i feel the heat, go figure!
That heat prob. is kinda strange, Is it effecting the performance? What kind of headers did you do? How hard was it to grind the kmember?? Is it something the average backyard mechanic can do?