Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New T/A owner (In Oklahoma)

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 04:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New T/A owner (In Oklahoma)

Hey guys,

I created this account a little bit before I got my T/A. Was looking at some of the ones for sale on the forums here.

Went through with the purchase yesterday on a 01 with 75k mi.
Car is in good order overall, Interior was near perfect, the body is straight with a newer paint job that's good.
Took a risk because it's running rough on the lower rpm but its due to having a cam that it is not tuned for. (Atleast this is what I assume) It's running really rich atm. I'm not an expert on cars but have a decent understanding and I've dreamt of having T/A since watching Smokey and the Bandit since I was little.

Has Pacesetter headers but the exhaust is older and has leaks so I've immediately ordered a new Pacesetter y-pipe and full Magnaflow catback. (dual tips of course ) Also, I'm putting in new plugs and wires. Everything else appears stock.

Will install next week and then have it tuned afterwards and I'm hoping to see mid 300 rwhp or more.

Cosmetically I intend to get the front license plate filler with the bird painted black, as well as do a black stripe with the ram air logo down the side of the snorkle and paint the Trans Am logo black. At some point, when I get money again, I heard the Torque Thrust 18" wheels look amazing on these cars and depending how that goes I'll probably lower it with Eibach springs.

Any comments or advice would be welcome and appreciated!

Pic's below. These are the Photo's right after purchase. I probably won't take anymore until I do the cosmetic changes excluding the wheels.