General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Possible BCM Issue??

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 05:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Possible BCM Issue??

Ok I'm new to ls1tech for starters been using the website for years but not had an issue this big with no other posts about it so hopefully I'm not the first to have this issue

I have a 1997 Firebird Trans Am

A month or so ago I noticed the blinkers weren't working. So I went for bulbs and fuses, but the blinker light in the dash doesn't light up at all, strange. So I went through the car played with all the bells and whistles and the blinkers, traction control, abs, (no warning lights in the dash just don't work at all) blower motor, defog, reverse lights all don't work. So I started thinking it was the bcm. But the normal issues like radio, power windows, etc. All work just fine no issues. And to make it stranger when the radiator fans come on when the engine gets hot everything powers up and works fine. Then when the fans turn off all stops working again, the car runs perfectly. Recently had the Opispark replaced other than that there has been any changes to the car, please helpppp thank you
Old 12-22-2012, 08:53 PM
TECH Veteran

I can offer some schematics, if you want to follow some wires and try to track something down.. Other than that, I'm stumped. This sounds pretty complicated. See if all of your problems trace back to the BCM or a ground. (Seems to be my popular answer lately)

This does cover LT1 and LS1.
http://cs.chevroletclub.net/graphics...g.diagrams.pdf
Old 12-25-2012, 03:35 AM
Teching In

I appreciate the quick response, and when it gets a little warmer out I'll look through all the wires :S and see if I can figure something out. At least now I have a map and know what I'm looking at. Thanks but if anyone has any other ideas I would appreciate the help =)
Old 05-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Teching In