Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

LQ4 drift/road race build questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 01:39 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 drift/road race build questions

first off heres what i got 2003 LQ4 stock 317 heads ARP rod bolts and studs custom long tubes 1 3/4 open headers f body accessories oil pan etc…. note IM USING THE TRUCK INTAKE, RAILS ETC. got a pretty big hood scoop on her

this my first LS motor build i got sick of the rotary blowing up and i just have a few questions since I'm new to this i have been searching a ton and can't find what i need

1.)should i use a high volume or high pressure oil pump ?
I'm thinking high volume

2.) are any of you using this? or recommend it ? some people at drift events who were ls1 say they just over fill the oil by 1/2 quart or so lol ! sounds kinda the ghetto way of doing things

http://www.improvedracing.com/baffle...ffle-p-30.html

3.) i was looking into the ms4 with stock rockers and dual valve springs and push rods but as i was searching through the forums i found out that the PTV is very close and some people say they actually "kissed" the piston with this cam and since this motor will be seeing alot of high RPM/redline time i don't think that big of a cam is a good idea to be bouncing off the limiter with 6600-6700 rpm what do you guys think ? is the ms4 more for drag racing? what would a better cam option be ?

forgot to mention the motor is in an FC YES I DO HAVE SUSPENSION MODS !

my goal for hp is about 350 whp through a T56 will the cam only with bolt ons do this on 317 heads ?

any help greatly appreciated

Last edited by nick Ritter; 01-28-2014 at 02:08 AM.
Old 01-28-2014, 05:03 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts