Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

ls7 clutch install - pressure plate bolts

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2014, 05:29 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question ls7 clutch install - pressure plate bolts

Hey guys. I know...another ls7 clutch thread. Sorry in advance. You will be glad to know that I've read nearly every thread posted on this topic more than once over the past year that I'd like to think I'm pretty up to snuff on most of the details of the job, so this shouldn't be too much of a repeat thread.

I'm just wondering if anyone can explain to me how exactly the TQ setting of the pressure plate bolts affects the actuation of the clutch, IE over 50 ft lbs of tq is said to put pressure on the fingers of the clutch, thus "pre-loading" it and giving us issues with very low pedals and even issues with improper (dis)engagement.

Now I'm no mechanic, so I'm not looking for anything super in-depth and complicated. My mechanic though, who is also a mechanical engineer, pointed out that it appeared that the way the PP attaches to the rest of the assembly, it looks like it would "bottom out" (metal against metal), regardless of how much tq you put on it. Looking at the ls7 in the box, I saw where the bolt hole's mating surfaces would come together, and I don't see what/where anything could move even if it was tq'd to death either.

Now, my mechanic wasn't arguing anything at all and the clutch was installed today with the PP bolts at 48 ft lbs and a dab of blue loc-tite for good measure. It'll be buttoned up, bled, and hopefully driven away without any hitches tomorrow afternoon. But he and I are both curious about the mechanics behind this ever-important torque setting. Anyone care to indulge us?