Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to LS1's

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2006, 10:39 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to LS1's

Alright, i've been building engines for over a decade now, but have always been involved with old school chevy's and small block fords. I'm just starting to learn about the wonders of the LS1, so i'm looking for advice from the pro's here. A friend of mind has bought a 98 T/A and wants to build a nitrous motor for it. I'm going to list the parts we're considering and get some feedback from you guys.

Block:
LME Pro408. 6.0 Iron block, eagle 4340 crank, lunati pro mod rods, and -8cc dish pistons.

cam:
undecided. Looking for suggestions here

heads:
patriot LS6 cnc 2.08/1.65 valves

Intake:
Were considering the LSX, but want to keep the stock look as much as possible. Thinking LS6 here also.

We're researching the nitrous kit now as well. We'd heard that Nitro Dave has a hidden kit with the spray bars plumbed into the intake. Haven't had any luck finding it though. We're in the early stages now, just trying to select parts, and want to know if and where we're going wrong before it's too late. Thanks for all the help in advance guys.

Also, sorry for thin content here guys, but i'm in a serious rush (i'm in iraq right now and only get 20 minutes) Thanks again!
Old 01-04-2006, 11:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

I'm no pro, but just curious.
What size/type headers would you put on this engine?
and are you looking to maximize power on the bottle, or more NA with a little bottle?

To me your parts list so far looks fine. I mean I can't see anything that's bad or in conflict, leaving of course the final decision on cam & head set-up.

Stay alert over there. I sure am glad I'm not in Iraq.
Old 01-05-2006, 07:35 AM
Teching In