Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Why are most setups not run to their full potential?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2006, 11:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Why are most setups not run to their full potential?

now let me say that im still learning as much as i can about the turbo world. i dont know it all nor do i claim to but something i have noticed is this. theres LOTS of turbo ls1s running on this site but most of them are running huge turbos and big cubic inch engines. why? most dont even run their turbo into its efficiency range. not to attack a single person but ive seen several running a gt42 at less than 20-30 psi. is head lift still a concern as to keep you from running a smaller turbo at a higher boost level? ive seen t76 turbos running 15 psi or less. to me thats an inefficeint setup that would create some good numbers but at a cost of a broader powerband.

then you have people running HUGE engines and solid roller cams with ultra expensive heads and intake combos. why that either? why not let the compressed air do its job? most here look for a decent street strip car. as a strip car with huge slicks and a stalled th350/400 or a powerglide i could see something like a twin turbo 408 or 427 or even bigger. but as a street car? i dont think again thats a very effective combination.

again this is something ive seen and would like maybe a little clearification on this because im very curious (mayber theres something im missing here ). also let me say that i know boost pressure is just that. but it does come in to play somewhat.
Old 01-07-2006, 11:20 PM
Suspended Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by 1bdbrd