Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to ls1..need advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2006, 07:20 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to ls1..need advice

I read the majority of the stickys in each part of the forums, and learnd lots about the ls1 and modding...The plas for the car...Its a 02 Trans am Ws6 Ram air M6...The plans for the car, basicly its a daily driver, I want to start moding it, I figure, Start with 4.11 gears, Then full exhaust,Lid, Maf basic suspension mod, strut tower brace,control arms,springs, shocks, tires...First to start off with free mods, Im new to trans ams and Ls1's, So Im going to keep it N/a full bolt ons, No heads, just stuff like intake and cams, gears lid shifter stc. What are the weak point on a trans am, what goes out first on them. where should I start, Its has to stay smog legal, and I live in cali..
1. gears, 4.11 for a M6
2. full exhaust, Lt's, Catted H, true dual exhaust, Or should just go with catte Y pipe?
3.Lid, maf, TB, should i upgrade these, or is there no gain by upgrading to a bigger maf or bigger Tb, if so what size should I go with. Should I change out the Intake manifold,Or is stock pretty good?
4. Cam..not sure yet but im still researching on cams,
5 anyother mods im forgetting that help, reach my goals, of running low 12's full bolt'on daily driver...
Thanks, im still reading more stickys as i go through the forums
Old 05-23-2006, 07:23 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First off, from what I hear, if you live in Cali...LT's are out if you want to keep it legal.
Second, you can keep your intake manifold for a while. You have an 02...good year. The 01's and 02's have the LS-6 intakes, which are quite a bit better than the 98-00 LS-1 intakes.
Old 05-23-2006, 07:29 PM
12 Second Club

Received 46 Likes on 43 Posts