Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

how things work

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 11:01 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default how things work

Ive seen threads floating around every once in a while with words like stroker, bored, sleeved, small block/big block, rotating assembly, forged internals, bottom end etc... I was just curious as to what all these exactly are. I mean, i know how an engine works but below the pisons i suppose i am in the dark. I guess my questions are "whats the difference between engine displacements (402, 408, etc..) do they just have bigger cylinders (as in the slots where the pistons reside). What is a stroker exactly? Any links that diagram an engine fully? I am by no means a mechanic but i would love to learn. MAybe this will clear up a lot of confusion amongst many of us noobs.. What about the difference between a small block and a big block.. Are the distances between things greater (as in cylender walls and stuff are thicker and thus results in a bigger block with the same displacement). How is an engine balanced? I see blocks and engines and things of that sort for sale on the sponsor sites... can anyone simply buy a fully assembled engine and slap it in the car and have it work work (minus fittment and computer issues)? I thought there were more steps and materials required (other than exhaust, intake, heads and cam). Ive been lurking for a while and i guess these questions are too broad for a search (and there aernt any stickies). Any help with these questiosn would be amazing. Ive wondered these things for so long but just never asked. Thanks guys. I know there are a lot of questions.. but yeah, any help is great
Old 01-11-2007, 11:18 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Maybe these will help you
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/supercharger.htm

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/engine.htm
Old 01-11-2007, 02:54 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by delinquent543