Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New to the site...

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2007, 01:03 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New to the site...

....and I love it. So much good info here.

I have a 97 z28 a4 with a procharger on it. And it needs help...

Bought with the blower installed. I test drove it and everything ran fine. I came back the next day and bought, only the have it blow the motor on the way home .

SO, I got a low mileage motor and swapped it in. Im a relatively competent mechanic so I did it all myself. After the swap the car ran great, but would slowly get hot, so I never got to drive it much, didnt want to overheat it. In trying to get it to run cooler, I must have gotten the Opti all wet and now it it misses. Oh and I was an idiot and put platinum plugs in it. I have since found thats a big no no with a blower. Oh and it has a bad oil leak now. Probably the infamous LT1 intake manifold leak...

So the car has pretty much been a can of worms for me, and im at my wits end. I know some of it was my fault, and some just bad luck. I dont want to just throw parts at it, so im looking for a shop in SoCal that can work on my LT1.

I believe it needs the following:
--First off it probably needs a new Opti
--And the proper plugs/wires
--Oil leak needs fixing
--Im sure it needs a dyno tune for the blower
--Cooling needs to be addressed. Im not sure if its cause of no tune, or if I didnt bleed the cooling system right or what.

I just want this thing to pass smog and be a fun daily driver. Its really a nice car otherwise. It has full hotchkis suspension, and the 30th anniv seats.

The blower is an intercooled ProCharger. From swapping the motor, I got to check it all out, and I think it it needs to be all sorted out. The kit seems kinda cheap or something.