Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

My 10 Bolt is making noises!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 12:34 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 10 Bolt is making noises!!

So I just got my car yesterday...I can tell the previous owners never really did any maintenance on the car. Its a 2002 with TCS and stock gears.

I got to driving it, and I noticed there is like a grinding sound coming from the rear. It doesn't really sound high pitched or anything, its just a drone out grinding noise.

Could it be the diff. or axle bearings? I'm relatively new to Fbodies.

Thanks.
Old 01-06-2008, 03:16 PM
TECH Enthusiast

axle bearings mine were messed up . just changed my gears out last week and found out that the axle bearings were messed up from the factory
Old 01-06-2008, 03:21 PM
On The Tree

yeah, thats the first thing i'm going to look at. i hope that is the only thing wrong. i don't want to replace the whole rear.
Old 01-06-2008, 09:00 PM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by mgcook
yeah, thats the first thing i'm going to look at. i hope that is the only thing wrong. i don't want to replace the whole rear.
I would start saving for a new rear. The rear ends on these cars are not very good.
Old 01-07-2008, 04:55 AM
TECH Fanatic

When my bearings went they messed up the axles and they had to be replaced
Old 01-07-2008, 11:01 PM
FormerVendor

So I just got my car yesterday...I can tell the previous owners never really did any maintenance on the car. Its a 2002 with TCS and stock gears.

I got to driving it, and I noticed there is like a grinding sound coming from the rear. It doesn't really sound high pitched or anything, its just a drone out grinding noise.

Could it be the diff. or axle bearings? I'm relatively new to Fbodies.

Thanks.