Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

PermanOOb

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 11:14 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PermanOOb

The title pretty much sums up who I am and what I will be to this site. I am a NJ resident that has driven exclusively GM vehicles up to last year. I will put some pics up of my old '78 Malibu at the end of this post. I sold this car a year ago to get a light duty pickup truck for commuting and for working on the house. After I sold the car I thought that was it and closed the book on that chapter of my life, however, as fate would have it, the girl that bought the car needed some advice and a little help working on it. In the past I considered a number of powerplant transplants including a big block. Ironically, this car came with a swapped BBC 427, but the engine was toast so I gave it away and put the original powertrain back in. I digress though; as of late I've been noticing the increasing availability of the LS engines in the junkyards (JY) around here. In NJ, the JYs don't carry vehicles older than ten years. I've been toying with the idea of getting an Escalade engine/auto trans and transplanting that into the Malibu as a replacement for the 305 SBC. I figured that the Caddy engine would get good MPGs because it would reside in a vehicle that weighs far less than the SUV. I can do all of the necessary fab work to get the engine/trans mounted in the chassis, but I know the major problem would be getting the computer to run the engine. Also there are other electronic things that I know I have overlooked. I know very little of these engines except for the fact that they sound really wicked with the right exhaust, offer plenty of power, and have the ability to run clean and efficiently. This is why I am here. One of my dream cars would be building a late 2nd gen Camaro (preferrably '79-'81) and making my version of a Trans-Am racer out of it. I would love to build an LSx engine with a manual 6-s