LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Broken Dash & Mangled Radio/Nav Unit

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2015, 12:43 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Dash & Mangled Radio/Nav Unit

Hey guys, I have poked around a little on the internet tonight without finding much about the answers I'm looking for in regards to some damage to my 2006 Grand Prix GXP. I've owned this car for a few years, but I'm far from an expert on the interior and stereo stuff so I could really use some advice.

Today while I was at work my car was broken into by a (pretty unskilled?) thief. From the looks of it he stuck a screw driver between the glass and the front portion of the door and pried outward until the window broke. So not only do I have to buy glass, I have to figure out how to take care of the bent up door. Unfortunately, I think that's the easiest part of my repairs.

The criminal mastermind must not have brought along a phillips screwdriver, because instead of unscrewing the 4? 6? screws holding the nav unit in the dash he decided to break the plastic of the actual dash at every mounting corner. He then decided to tug/pry on the front the Nav unit, but not before ripping the off the slots where the clips of the dash trim snap in on each side. Fortunately or unfortunately the guy didn't figure out the unit was still being held to the dash in a couple more places, so he gave up and left.

Even though one side of the screen was bent nearly an inch away from the main part of the unit, the radio still functions somehow. I took it out of the car tonight (no reason to reward him if he comes back for round 2 tomorrow).