LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

383 Stroker question

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2010, 12:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 383 Stroker question

Ok this is not an update for my build, it is a question for general readers and for my own knowledge. Please make your explanations understandable for newbies. The question is what is the difference between a LT1 383 stroker and a regular 350 LT1? Also what is the difference in horsepower on average. I am asking because someone said that they are the same thing and there is not too much of a difference, and although I am new to this, I don't agree with that. Someone please explain this.

One more question. What is the average price for a machine shop to bore the engine and port the engine?

Thanks
Old 08-03-2010, 12:52 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by tripleb45
Ok this is not an update for my build, it is a question for general readers and for my own knowledge. Please make your explanations understandable for newbies. The question is what is the difference between a LT1 383 stroker and a regular 350 LT1? Also what is the difference in horsepower on average. I am asking because someone said that they are the same thing and there is not too much of a difference, and although I am new to this, I don't agree with that. Someone please explain this.

One more question. What is the average price for a machine shop to bore the engine and port the engine?

Thanks
350 is a 4.00" bore with a 3.48" stroke.
383 is a 4.030" bore with a 3.75" stroke.
396 is a 4.030" bore with a 3.85" stroke.

The horsepower difference lies in the valvetrain for the most part and has little to do with the rotating assembly. However, a stroker motor will almost always have more lower end torque due to the longer stroke.