LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Keep killing 02 sensors every 1-2 years

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 11:37 AM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Keep killing 02 sensors every 1-2 years

I'm starting to get sick of bi annual 02 sensor replacements. Any ideas why they keep dying so soon? They are delco/delphi sensors.

Old 10-03-2012, 11:45 AM
TECH Fanatic

Post a pic of one when you take it out before you wipe it off
Old 10-03-2012, 02:46 PM
Village Troll

Received 541 Likes on 391 Posts
LS1Tech 20 Year Member

Tune that **** to run in open loop. You'll be fine.
Old 10-03-2012, 03:01 PM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

I OBD1 swapped as soon as I started playing with the car so maybe I am missunderstanding the OBD2 codes. It says both front sensors voltage high. I thought generally a "bad O2" was lack of switching???

Then you have a heater failure.
Are the codes displayed numerically or in the order they present?

I wonder if the heater circuit failure is a clue.

What program are you using to scan? Have a new smartphone myself and want to play, my car may be OBD1 but there are still 3 OBD2 vehicles in the driveway.
Old 10-03-2012, 03:30 PM
Village Troll

LS1Tech 20 Year Member

I take it you have O2 extendors or did you solder them yourself?
Old 10-03-2012, 05:15 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by 96capricemgr
I OBD1 swapped as soon as I started playing with the car so maybe I am missunderstanding the OBD2 codes. It says both front sensors voltage high. I thought generally a "bad O2" was lack of switching???

Then you have a heater failure.
Are the codes displayed numerically or in the order they present?

I wonder if the heater circuit failure is a clue.

What program are you using to scan? Have a new smartphone myself and want to play, my car may be OBD1 but there are still 3 OBD2 vehicles in the driveway.
Torque, and I'm guessing it just displays them in numerical order.