LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

does msd box replace optispark??

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2005, 07:05 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default does msd box replace optispark??

im new to lt1 coming from ls1, so the optispark is new to me. what exactly is the optispark system?? and does the msd ignition box replace it with a different kinda spark system??
Old 09-08-2005, 08:43 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Raise
im new to lt1 coming from ls1, so the optispark is new to me. what exactly is the optispark system?? and does the msd ignition box replace it with a different kinda spark system??
No, i wish. you may not have any trouble out of the opticrap system. but a lot of people do and those that do often have a lot of trouble. i am about to install my 6th disrtiputor. MSD will give you a better spark, and make the care run smoother, and is about to release a cap and rotor kit that is much better than the stock one. the F**kers keep pushing the release date back though. in order to replace the opti in the optispark you will need a conversion kit. there are 2 out there. one is uses the LS1 coils that are not included in the kit so it is more expensive, i think it is LTCC or something like that.
the other i can't remember right now which is embarassing because i plan on getting it myself. it is about 600 and change and is totally plug and play. everthing comes in the kit and it is based on the north star iginition system. someone help me on the name of the other kit. if i was at work i could even add a link to the site that sells them.
Old 09-08-2005, 08:47 PM
Launching!

I believe one of those systems is called "OptiDirect"
Old 09-08-2005, 09:57 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by quick93transam