LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 in a 56 Chevy

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2008, 03:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 in a 56 Chevy

Im installing a LT1 with a 4L60 in my 56 Chevy. Im using the stock harness and computer, and I'm leaving everything stock as it came out of a 95 Trans Am. Can I use standard 350 side mounts? Any major pitfalls I need to look out for? Ive done this kind of thing many times, but this is my first time with computer controlled equiptment. thanks.
Old 06-18-2008, 01:57 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

there was a guy at a carshow this weekend with an LT1 powered '55 chev. Nice setup! The car was MEAN! That being said, I didn't have a peek at the motor mounts, so I can't help you there. I can tell you that a weak-point of the LT1 is the Optispark. Keep it dry when topping up coolant, as due to it's location, it's succeptable to moisture, and premature failure.
Old 06-18-2008, 02:10 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It's a 4L60E to be exact, since it's 94 or newer. Anyways, unimportant since we know you mean a 4L60E and no 700R4.

Mounts are the same and as stated, the Opti is the 'pitfall'. If you get a nice new Delco cap, tap a hole in it that's not going to effect electrical or anything else, and put in a plastic (important to be plastic) barb fitting then glue it in. That now make it essentially a vented opti, and what you do then is run a vacuum line up to your intake elbow and tap a barb spot there too Of it it's the stock rubber, then... find a way? >_>

If you don't want to do that, I'd tap out the water pump's weep hole and put a small barb fitting in it, and run that down, past the Opti, to the ground. So IF the pump goes, it doesn't **** on your liquid sensitive Opti.

A nice mod to do is run LS style Coil Per Cylinder and mount them on your valve covers
...with that said...